I’m Not A White Man Feigning Empathy For Black People, I’m An Angry Human Who Resents Injustice

His bottom line is we have to face the issue of injustice in this country. I completely agree.

Thought Catalog

vincentlaflamevincentlaflame

For most of my youth, I was an active stage performer in Northern California. I performed in over 25 musical productions and a number of plays.

The most poignant performance … the one I’ll never forget … was an adaptation of Harriet Beecher Stowe’s anti-slavery novel Uncle Tom’s Cabin. The director (a black woman) wanted to draw attention to racism and choose to make a politically-charged statement: She cast a white teenager as Tom. That teen was me.

The director wasn’t looking to create a parody of blacks or their struggle by putting a white person in blackface. She was looking to make a strong social statement about race. I’ve never been one to shy away from making people think, so I signed on as the lead.

We rehearsed for five weeks for a 3-day run of the show in the small, suburban town of Sunnyvale, California (the center of what is now…

View original post 2,139 more words

Leave a Reply

