7+3=10 & 10-3=7

I feel like a kid who just understood the relationship between addition and subtraction.

For anyone who’s ever gone through any changes in their life, had any doubts if they were making the right decisions, waited to hear God speak to them you NEED to read this book, “Just Do Something” by Kevin DeYoung.  I especially recommend it to all my 20 something friends, this book is very enlightening.  I was told about tit by a sweet girl in one of my Bible Studies.  I want to highlight nearly every word.

I feel like I’m in this huge moment of clarity right now.  Many of you know that over the past 2 years I’ve been through a lot of challenges and changes, which I’ll be the first to admit I am not a fan of. (i may at a later time share more of this story).   I like predictability and stability and clear reasoning.  While I definitely do not have all the answers, reading this book today gave me a sense of peace.  Going through times that are uncertain you are told to pray about it and search for “God’s will.” So we pray and we wait, and we wait, and we wait.  Sometimes we need to wait, other times we just hold off on doing something.   We like to think God’s will is specific to the who, what,when where, and how.  It isn’t necessarily that way.  God’s will is in the place you’d least expect it- the BIBLE.  He tells us to love and honor Him, and love others.  That’s it.  That’s all we need to know.  As for the “who, what, when, where, and how” we use the free will that God has granted us and make a decision.  God already knows what we are going to decide and has worked His purpose through His plan for our lives.  The question we should be asking is “how am I bringing Glory to God?”

This may sound simple, trust me I feel like I’ve heard it at least 100 times in the past few months, but for some reason the light bulb just seemed to turn on.  The anxiety I felt this week about my future has subsided.  I still have to make some big decisions and it still scares me a little, but I am reminded that my needs will be met.  I really hope that maybe that light bulb will go off for you too if you read this or better yet, the book.

But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is alive and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will He not much more clothe you, O you of little faith?  Therefore do not be anxious saying ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ for the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all.  But seek ye first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.”

Mathew 6:30-33

Leave a Reply

